The Girl Who Could (Formerly) Eat Anything

Getting fit and taking names

Where to go from here?

Well, I managed a less than 1 pound loss last week. My average daily calories (net) were 958 and I exercised every day except Friday, and even then I had a softball game so I got in some activity (we won, by the way — last game of the season!).

I left 20 activity points on the table. I didn’t really do it on purpose. I’m not even deliberately eating so little. It’s just that I am not hungry enough to eat more. I work all day, so I can’t constantly eat. Then I try to exercise after work, which takes an hour or more, then a shower and exercise actually stunts my appetite, so by the time I’m hungry, I eat my dinner and have my smoothie and it’s bed time.

I know one school of thought is to eat more. And that actually used to work well for me. I saw my highest losses when I ate every last point Weight Watchers allowed. But not anymore. When I do that now, I maintain or gain. But then again, when I eat less, I maintain or gain.

Yes, I’m lighter (slightly) this week than last. But that’s my pattern, anyway. I bounce week to week between 152 and 154 and anywhere in between. It doesn’t matter if I eat more or I eat less. I don’t know how this is even possible, but it’s getting beyond annoying. Weight training isn’t making a difference. My measurements are the same.

I’m going to keep tracking and exercising as much as I can for a few more weeks and see what happens. If I see results, I’ll keep going. If I don’t, I don’t know what I’m going to do. I guess keep going, anyway, because at least I’m not gaining weight anymore. I’m definitely going to try the pill again after I get my IUD out, but that won’t be for a while.

I have a challenge coming the next two weeks. My daughter is graduating high school next week. A lot of people are coming to visit. It’s going to make fitting in a workout difficult and I know there is going to be a lot of food and alcohol flowing and I have a tough time controlling myself around the kind of food we’ll have.

One thing seems to be consistent in my life: Every time I commit to a routine, something like this comes up. Holidays, birthdays, graduations, trips out of town … I’m starting to lose my motivation to even bother.

May 21, 2012 - Posted by | Nothing More Than Feelings, Progress

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

