The Girl Who Could (Formerly) Eat Anything

Getting fit and taking names

Eat More, Lose Weight?

It’s counterintuitive, I know. I’m still struggling with the concept and my brain fights me daily. But my brain is losing because it can’t argue with results.

Twelve days ago, I posted that despite severely restricting calories and exercising, I was gaining weight left and right. I had to pull out my fat pants. I was ready to throw in the towel.

Instead, I decided I had nothing to lose and decided to up my calorie intake. Nothing drastic. I was gaining weight at 1,200 net calories and I was gaining weight at 1,000 net calories, so I decided to try 1,500.

I can’t say I hit that every day. I usually eat about 1,800 to 1,900 in a day (sometimes more, sometimes less) and I work off about 2,500 to 3,000 calories (that I count) each week. Sometimes more, sometimes less. I think somewhere in the week it all evens out.

And since I started that two weeks ago? I’ve lost 2.6 pounds. I’ve had losses two weeks in a row. I was 152.8 the day I wrote that post. Last Sunday, I was 152.4. It was small, but it was a loss. Yesterday morning — after a Friday night of fried lasagna and bread sticks with alfredo sauce at Olive Garden and fried dough at the fair (where we also walked around for more than two hours) — I weighed 150.2. That’s 2.2 pounds this week. And that’s pretty awesome.

Don’t get me wrong. Most days I’m eating eggs, vegetables, fruit, whole grains — the healthy stuff. I’m just eating more of it. And it’s working. And I’m thrilled.

And now I’ve written all about it and I wonder if I’m going to gain this week. Because, of course, that’s how it works.

The fat pants? Friday night, I fit into a pair of my smaller jeans. They were a bit snug, but looked good and were comfortable.

November 14, 2011 - Posted by | Nothing More Than Feelings, Progress

4 Comments »

  1. let’s hear it for good food, yay!

    Comment by mama mia | November 14, 2011 | Reply

  2. Maybe your brain will feel better knowing that there a strong biological and evolutionary reason for you to retain and even gain weight on what’s, for modern humans, a severely calorie-restricted diet. Humans evolved when famine was far more likely than feast. The ability of your ancestors to retain weight even during times of scarcity (1,000 calories per day) set them up to survive (and reproduce) when food became even more scarce or disappeared entirely. There would have been a strong selective pressure that allowed those genes to move forward in the population. The most recent slice of human history, at least in the Western world, has been a time of unimaginable plenty when it comes to the availability of calories. Your body is tuned to scarcity by reducing metabolism as much as possible, saving for even leaner times. (Although, were you to restrict your calories to an even lower point, say 500 per day, you’d likely lose weight, but that would neither be a healthy or desirable way to live.) So now, if you must eat more to lose more, revel in the extra treats! And don’t blame yourself; you can’t change your genes.

    Comment by bentpiton | November 14, 2011 | Reply

    • Oh, I totally know the biology part of it. It’s just that it can’t be possible to gain 4 pounds in a week on what I was eating before! It definitely wasn’t enough calories for that. But I did, so I guess it is … lol

      I’m definitely happy I can eat more, but at the same time, even knowing all that, my brain is arguing with me.

      Comment by Renee | November 14, 2011 | Reply

  3. Sweet! Good job 🙂

    Comment by meeshelleneal | November 14, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

