The Girl Who Could (Formerly) Eat Anything

Getting fit and taking names

Confession Time

The weights on the right may not be completely accurate. I’ve been kind of fudging results by weighing myself after my workouts instead of before.

Part of the reason is I’ve been getting up and out the door earlier on Sundays. It’s pretty normal for me to weigh less at 9 or 10 a.m. than at 6 or 7 a.m. Since I’ve started my workouts by 7:30 the past couple weeks, I can’t help thinking that the pre-workout weigh-ins aren’t accurate. But the post-sweat workouts probably aren’t, either. They do make me feel better, though.

If I believe the pre-sweat numbers, I gained last week and stayed the same this week. That is unacceptable to my brain because I’ve been working out and sticking to my points. I went into Friday dinner with 7 daily and 27 AP points. I ate a VERY thin crust, 12-inch pizza and a couple pieces of cheesy bread (mozzarella and butter on bread slices about the diameter of a baguette) and then stuck to my dailies on Saturday, so I should have been just fine, point-wise. Still, no loss. However, my post-sweat weight had me down .4. Too small, but better than nothing.

I hate to think that in seven weeks, I’ve only lost 3.6 pounds. I’m thinking it might be time to call my doctor for a recheck of my thyroid. A couple years ago, my TSH levels were a little off, but the additional bloodwork was OK. I kind of felt, after talking to a few people who had hypothyroidism diagnoses, that my primary care physician wasn’t completely thorough with his testing, but I felt fine and was losing and maintaining weight just fine. After gaining so much in the last few months and having so much trouble taking it back off now, I’m starting to wonder if I was right. Maybe there really is an issue.

I don’t know. I hope not. Maybe I just screwed up my metabolism by yo-yoing some and I just need to reset it. There is also one slight difference this time: I haven’t made the effort I used to make about getting the GHGs every day. Specifically, I’ve been lax on the oil and dairy. I’m starting to think those things really do make a difference — at least for some of us.

This week, I’m going to work on better workouts and getting those GHGs each day. I already have 13 AP to work with and it’s only day two of the week. I somehow managed to talk myself this morning out of one last hour of sleep and I got on the elliptical for 45 minutes. If it doesn’t rain (well, thunder and lightning, anyway), I’m going to hit the pool for an hour of laps after work, and it’s a yoga day. That should get me another 5 to add to my total.

August 22, 2011 - Posted by | Nothing More Than Feelings, Progress

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

