The Girl Who Could (Formerly) Eat Anything

Getting fit and taking names

A Return to Sanity

I went grocery shopping Friday afternoon with every intention of picking up a week’s supply of Slim Fast and getting started on my new plan on Saturday.

Then I looked at the ingredients.

It has high fructose corn syrup, which I expected and was actually OK with the idea of having it daily for just a couple weeks. I try to avoid it, but at least it’s pretty much just corn and I can live with that. But I read a little further and found hydrogenated oil. Trans fats. Dr. Oz has done his job and scared me straight off ever ingesting even the tiniest bit of that, so I scrapped the Slim Fast plan and compromised with myself.

The bottom line is, even though it works, I’m tired of counting. Points, calories, all of it. I just want to live for a while. But I also still want to lose some weight and definitely don’t want to gain any.

The plan I came up with is based on some things I’ve noted about myself, one of which being that boredom and mindless activities make me feel hungry. Insatiably hungry. And even though I choose healthy foods and I measure them out and am careful about how much I ingest (I’m not really a binger at all), I still end up eating too much under those circumstances. Add to that weeks where I eat out more often or am invited to parties and it’s a recipe for disaster. That’s as much because I’m denying myself too much as that the food is just right there in front of me.

I do have my treats daily, but I’m so concerned with getting in enough fruits and vegetables and enough healthy oil and enough of this thing or that thing and I end up going a little too crazy when I let myself have something different. And I exercise too much. I get burned out. Then I go weeks without doing much of anything. Another recipe for disaster.

My compromise is to not beat myself up for not getting all the required nutritional foods every single day. I eat enough fruits and vegetables most days that if I have a day where I come up short (or have none at all), it’s not going to harm me. I need to come to terms with that. So, I’m going to focus on keeping my mind busy so I don’t have the boredom hunger and I’m going to eat what I’m in the mood for rather than what I “should” eat. And I’m not going to count the calories or points for it.

I’m going to burn a minimum of 500 calories a day and exercise for one hour, but if I don’t go above that, I’m going to be OK with myself. That’s enough as long as I’m not eating too much. And if I have a heavier eating day, I’ll just cut back the next day.

The more I think about food, the more I want to eat. I didn’t used to be like that and I used to not need to lose weight. There’s a correlation there.

I’m still going to keep a food and exercise diary — what I did each day and generally what I ate. But that’s as far as it’s going to go.

Keep an eye on the weight “chart” to the right for the results.

February 7, 2011 - Posted by | Nothing More Than Feelings, Progress

2 Comments »

  1. Eww – who knew slimfast was so bad for you?

    Also, apparently just writing down what you eat doubles your chances of losing weight and keeping it off – so even without calorie counting you’re doing yourself a favour 🙂

    I too have taken a break from counting every calorie and am instead, enjoying just keeping my portions in control etc.

    Comment by meeshelleneal | February 8, 2011 | Reply

    • Well, I was writing it all down before and having mixed results. 🙂 Not so much because of the writing down, but I kept veering off and eating too much or not exercising when I should. I was just spending way too much time obsessing and I think it made the whole thing more difficult and then I would fail.

      I figured Slim Fast probably wasn’t all that healthy, but now I know it’s even worse than I thought!

      Comment by Renee | February 9, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

