The Girl Who Could (Formerly) Eat Anything

Getting fit and taking names

January 22

OK. I am officially back. I was supposed to be back last week, but it was crazy and involved two parties and two dinners out (one being Indian food). From Christmas morning to January 15, I gained about 3 pounds. When I weighed this past Saturday (the 22nd), I was the same as on the 15th, but I weighed again on Sunday and was down to 142.5 from 144. So, I think I actually managed to lose some weight but must have been retaining water for the official weigh-in. I’m not going to worry about it. That means I should see a huge drop this Saturday, perhaps even back to my weight from before the holidays and traveling and eating too much and not exercising enough.

I hate that I went backwards and lost three whole weeks of reaching goal, but it is what it is.

I started the Jillian Michaels 30-Day Shred DVD on the 15th, but had to take a few days off because it made me so terribly sore! I did it on Saturday and Tuesday and then every day from Thursday to Sunday (and plan to do it again this afternoon). The plan is 10 days on each of the three levels and hopefully it will have the desired effect. Yoga a couple times a week just isn’t enough to get the muscle tone that I desperately want. Cardio is great for dropping the fat, but isn’t going to give me the look I’m going for. I don’t want to be body-builder toned by any means, but I don’t want so much jiggle, either.

I’m already seeing a difference, but that might be all in my head. When you feel good, you look good, right? At least to yourself.

I also joined a gym. I’d been thinking about it because my insurance will pay for most of the cost of membership, so there’s really no excuse. Chris joined months ago and several friends have joined in the past month or so, so it was time. I still prefer to use my elliptical on days I can’t exercise outside, but it will be nice to have access to all that weight equipment. And my friend M, who recently joined, told me they’re starting some classes again, including yoga. I can get over my loathing of the gym cardio equipment, too, if I have someone to talk to while I’m on it. And it’s something Chris and I can do together.

I haven’t gone yet, except to sign up, but I’m definitely looking forward to it!

The other news is that last Sunday (the 16th) I went biking with my friends L and M. I haven’t ridden a bike in 22 years and we rode 32 entire miles. The pace was about the same as walking 3 miles an hour for me, so not too strenuous, but I wasn’t even tired after. I could have ridden even farther if I’d had the time (and better padding — those bike seats are not comfortable!). So, I’m pretty happy that my endurance allowed me to ride a bike for four straight hours without being exhausted. I guess I’m in pretty good shape.

And now for Saturday’s menu:

WPs:  35 (used 5) (30 remain)
APs: 9 (used 0) (9 remain)

Breakfast: Oat bran cereal, orange (Whole grains, 1 dairy, 2 fruits) (5)
Lunch: Almonds, dark chocolate, peanut butter (Protein) (8)
Dinner: Asparagus and hollandaise sauce (5 veggies) (4)
Dessert: Smoothie (5 fruits, protein) (5)
Snack: Ovaltine (1 dairy) (3)
Total points: 25
Exercise: 26 minutes Shred level 1, 73 minutes elliptical (923 calories, 99 minutes) (9)

GHGs

Water: 10/6
Multivitamin: B6 and B12
Fruits and veggies: 12/5
Oils: 0/2
Exercise: 99/30 and 923/200
Whole grains: Yes
Protein: Yes
Dairy: 2/2

January 24, 2011 - Posted by | Menus

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

