The Girl Who Could (Formerly) Eat Anything

Getting fit and taking names

Week in Review October 16-22

I’m at my wits’ end. I switched from counting calories back to Weight Watchers because after five weeks on calories, I was pretty much back where I started and was sick of gaining and losing and gaining and losing. I never had that problem on Weight Watchers.

I lost 5 pounds in two weeks. I was chugging along. I was doing as good as ever. I am on day 22 of my 30-day challenge and kicking butt doing everything I’m supposed to do.

The first two weeks, I ate almost every AP point I earned. This week. I left 17 on the table. It wasn’t necessarily on purpose, it was just how the week went. Other than that, I pretty much did everything the same.

I’m eating the right foods — the foods that are healthy, whole and supposed to burn fat and help with weight loss. I do yoga. I tone with hand weights. I do more cardio than I even want to think about.

I burned 5,360 calories last week. I left almost 2,000 of those calories uneaten, not to mention that is on top of the built-in calorie deficit I already have from counting points. I averaged a net of 924 calories A DAY.

I gained 1 pound. I have not lost even half an inch. And that first week’s loss of 4 pounds came after a weigh-in before which I spent two days pigging out on junk with a lot of sodium, so while I have still lost 4 pounds in three weeks, I think at least 2 pounds of that first week were from water weight loss. That doesn’t count.

I don’t know what to do. I don’t know what else to try. Counting points is turning out to have the same effect on my body as counting calories did.

I’m frustrated. I cried this morning.

I’m going to finish these 30 days and see what happens, but I made the same committment to the calorie counting thing and it didn’t work then, so I have my doubts now.

Thanksgiving and Christmas are coming. I’m probably going out of town for Thanksgiving, which means my exercise and eating schedules will be messed up for the better part of a week. That’s just enough time to regain anything I may be able to lose by then.

This royally sucks.

Gotta go. I need to work out some more, despite its lack of benefit.

October 23, 2010 - Posted by | Nothing More Than Feelings, Weekly Wrap-Up

10 Comments »

  1. Hey! First of all I admire your dedication.

    Secondly, maybe you’re thinking about it all too much? Sorry!(I hate it when people tell me things like that!) I overthink EVERYTHING… I just can’t take my own advice.

    What I mean is…doesn’t counting calories make you crazy? Even with my OCD personality I had to get rid of my scale and forget about looking at calorie content. (Although I do still avoid sugar like the plague- that’s my obsession).

    I like to work out mostly b/c it clears my head (from ALL my other issues that I DO obsess about…haha). I admire all of your cardio and weight training. I hope you give yourself lots of credit for all that…you work hard!!

    So, I’m suggesting that you toss the scale and just follow your instincts. I also thinnk that Mother Nature, hormones and stress have such an effect (or is it affect?) on us….uggg! Somethings we just can’t control. I hate that! signed Shelley – (a true control freak) 😀

    P.S. I really enjoy reading your work…your writing makes me feel like we are having a phone conversation!

    Comment by tuesday2 | October 23, 2010 | Reply

    • I like reading yours, too. 🙂 I miss you!

      Honestly, I started having trouble losing last year when I got my IUD. I honestly think that’s what causing my trouble. Problem is, switching my BC will cause a whole set of OTHER problems, so I don’t know what to do except keep doing what I’m doing and hope for the best. I just do NOT understand how my body can be holding onto this weight. It makes no scientific sense at all. 😦

      And, for the record, Shelley, if I looked like you I wouldn’t worry about it, either! You look fabulous.

      Comment by Renee | October 23, 2010 | Reply

    • I couldn’t have said it better myself.

      Also, have you ever thought about joining a sports team or dance classes or doing something physical you enjoy with others so that the exercise is secondary?

      Comment by meeshelleneal | October 25, 2010 | Reply

      • I’ve been taking ballet classes since August. I danced when I was younger and missed it, so I’m doing it again!

        I really don’t have a tough time working out. I actually enjoy it and kind of like being by myself when I do it. I listen to the news and clear my head and I don’t have to go at someone else’s (usually slower) pace.

        Comment by Renee | October 26, 2010

  2. ((((((((((Renee)))))))

    I’m sorry you’re having a hard time. Does your insurance cover a few sessions with a nutritionist? That might help.

    Comment by Sara | October 23, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks, Pepper. They probably do. I know there’s a free consultation they offer, but when my doctor had me call because of my cholesterol, they suggested I keep eating what I was already eating.

      Comment by Renee | October 23, 2010 | Reply

  3. Calm Renee, it’s one pound. It could be water weight?
    How about for next month you eat all your cals/points? In my humble opinion, maybe averaging 924 calories a day is not giving your body enough fuel to run on, hence slowing it down.

    Comment by thebrokengirl | October 23, 2010 | Reply

    • This was the first week since going back on WW that I didn’t eat pretty much all my points. And the only reason I didn’t was I just wasn’t hungry. I’m not deliberately way undereating. I’ve actually not eaten fewer than 1,500 calories in a day (usually more). The 924 is net after my workouts.

      What’s even more annoying to me right now is that I was DOWN half a pound yesterday, but today was the one that counts. I’m just seeing the same pattern as when I was counting calories (and I was eating about 300 calories a day more).

      Comment by Renee | October 23, 2010 | Reply

  4. do you drink enough water?

    Comment by mama mia | October 23, 2010 | Reply

    • Yes.

      Comment by Renee | October 26, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

