The Girl Who Could (Formerly) Eat Anything

Getting fit and taking names

Ch-ch-ch-changes (Of the Garden Variety)

Oh, the yummy healthiness of salad! (Photo courtesy http://www.telaviv4fun.com/restaurants.html)

There was a time where my lunch often consisted of a huge salad. That salad had a ton of vegetables, hard-boiled egg whites, cheese and oil if I needed it that day and vinegar.

It was a good salad. Even filling. Sometimes I added avocado. But I got kind of tired of it and stopped eating it.

I’ve found other ways to get greens into my diet, but I’m not good about eating those items regularly. One of my favorite meals is whole pasta with veggies sautéed in oil and goat and cheddar cheese. It’s fantastic. It’s even good without the pasta. But it’s about 700 calories and I guess it’s 12 points (I haven’t had it at any time during my point counting, but the oil would be 2, the pasta 4 I believe and the cheese at least 6). I can fit it in, considering my activity level. But I haven’t because the veggies go bad if I don’t use them quickly enough so I hate buying them for one meal a week.

So almost all of my fruit and veggie servings have been from fruit. Mostly from my smoothies, which are berries and a banana. Healthy and yummy, but I know I should be getting more greens in my diet for health purposes (plus they’re 0 points on WW).

I read in a magazine over the weekend a profile of a woman who’d lost weight and maintained her loss. She said she makes sure to have produce with every meal, something I think is a very good idea. I do manage to get my 5 or more servings a day, but I don’t have it with every meal. I decided to make a concerted effort to do it.

Dinner is covered, since I almost always have my smoothie at night. That leaves breakfast and dinner. The grocery store was light on fruits that I would generally like to eat with breakfast, so I decided to reinstate my morning calcium and vitamin D-fortified orange juice until I can get my hands on a melon or something.

That left lunch — the perfect time to get in some greens, my favorite being baby spinach. Today was my first chance to add that to my usual almonds and dark chocolate staple and I’m so glad I did it. That salad tasted amazing. I don’t know why. Maybe it was the flax oil I used instead of olive oil (flax has more omega-3 fatty acids, and I don’t eat meat and especially not seafood, so it’s a good source for it where olive oil isn’t so much). Or maybe it was just because it was a smaller salad and didn’t feel like a chore to eat. Since I was having nuts, I didn’t add any egg whites since I didn’t need the protein, necessarily. I’ll probably boil up some eggs tonight and have an egg white in tomorrow’s salad, though.

So, that’s my latest challenge to add to the 30-day challenge. I’m not putting any conditions on it, but it’s definitely something I need. And apparently, I enjoy it more than I remembered.

And, besides, I’ve read in a few places now of a study showing people who eat a high amount of water-laden foods weigh less. It’s worth a try!

October 11, 2010 - Posted by | Nothing More Than Feelings, The Past

3 Comments »

  1. good luck.

    Comment by mama mia | October 11, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hey – I love a good spinach salad, especially when someone else makes it. 🙂 I get tired of frequent salads too, so I started adding fresh spinach to smoothies. Frozen berries, bananas, some fat-free plain yogurt, and a few handfuls of fresh spinach – all the yumminess of a smoothie plus the fiber & vitamins & such from the spinach. Sure, it’s green, but you can’t taste the spinach. Even my picky daughter will eat it…

    Comment by Heather | October 11, 2010 | Reply

    • I’ve added it to my smoothies. I can taste it. Well, not so much that I can taste the spinach, but it mutes the taste of the berries so it’s not as sweet. I need my smoothies to be sweet — it’s my fix!

      I think I’ll be OK as long as I keep the salads smallish and I don’t make them the main meal, just kind of a side dish.

      Comment by Renee | October 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

