The Girl Who Could (Formerly) Eat Anything

Getting fit and taking names

And Now for Something Completely Different

OK, well not completely different, but different nonetheless.

The calorie-counting thing is just not working for me. Granted, this past week wasn’t stellar, but based solely on what MFP says my resting metabolic rate is, I should have had no more than a 1.5-pound gain and instead it was 5 pounds. A couple weeks ago, I should have had a decent loss and gained 2. My body isn’t reacting well to this program, so I’m going back to what worked so well for me before and issuing myself a challenge.

I know that the Weight Watchers program is going to make some pretty major changes in a couple months, but I see no need to pay money to get the new plan when I have what I need to work the old one and I know it works. So, that’s what I’m going to do.

My challenge is this: I will work the program perfectly and exercise a minimum of 30 minutes a day or burn a minimum of 200 calories a day, whichever comes last. If I burn 500 calories in 60 minutes one day, that will not carry over. I still have to exercise my 30 minutes and 200 calories every day that week.

Working the program perfectly means not going over my allotted points (I’ll explain that later) and getting in the Good Health Guidelines every day.

If I mess up on either of those (unless I’m sick), then my 30 days starts over. Once I complete my goal, I’ll “reward” myself. I haven’t decided yet with what. It won’t be clothing because I want to wait until I’m much closer to goal for that. I’m thinking maybe some jewelry, a new pair of shoes or possibly an iPod or MP3 player. I may wait to decide until I’ve completed my challenge, but at any rate, it starts today and ends on Sunday, October 31 (unless I have t start over).

So, this is how Weight Watchers (WW) points work: I get 20 per day for my age, height, weight and activity level. Additionally, WW allows 35 points that can be used or not any time during the week and any “activity points” can also be used any time during the week. Activity points (APs) are counted 1 per every 100 calories burned if you have a heart rate monitor (HRM) (I do). Otherwise, there’s a formula to figure them out, but since I have an HRM, I don’t need to worry about that.

The Good Health Guidelines (GHGs) are as follows:

  1. 5 servings of fruits and vegetables (1/2 cup per servings, except raw leafy greens — 1 cup)
  2. Six 8-ounce glasses of non-alcoholic liquid
  3. Choose whole grains whenever possible
  4. Lean protein
  5. Limit alcohol and refined sugar (kind of vague, I know)
  6. 2 teaspoons of a healthy oil (olive, flax and canola are the ones I use regularly)
  7. 30 minutes of exercise
  8. Multivitamin
  9. Two servings of dairy (soy milk counts)

I may publish my menus before they’re complete and update as necessary, but I’ll try to only publish at the end of each day or the following morning. Feel free to call me on it if I mess up on my challenge and don’t mention it! I will probably still track calories on MFP, but it’s all about points now!

October 2, 2010 - Posted by | Progress

6 Comments »

  1. Do what you need to do. If you know WW works for you then do it. MFP doesn’t seem to be working all that much for me either. I suppose it doesn’t help that my body is starting the cycle up after being dormant for 20 months. So, until that regulates itself I’ll be going through the ups and downs of hormonal fluctuation.
    I’m rooting for you.

    Comment by thebrokengirl | October 2, 2010 | Reply

  2. Good plan; do what works. I’ve been keeping track of calories for the past week. As far as carbs go, I’m only having fruit (but 3 servings per day at least); I cannot handle having pasta, bread, or cereal around because I’ll eat all of it. I’ve lost 3 lbs.

    Unfortunately, I had a moment of weakness last night. I met up with friends at Fermentation and had a glass of wine (it wasn’t even good – Sangre de Toro). Then what happened? I drank the wine slowly, but then we went to the Oktoberfest Bier Garten. I had one beer. Then we took a walk to RR Square, only to return to the Bier Garten, where I had another beer. Then I ate some tortilla chips to compensate for the alcohol. It could have been worse, but still!! Grrrr.

    At least I’ve been exercising for the past several days. No Oktoberfest tonight, despite invitations. No. I am going to a friend’s SNL bbq, but I will once again test myself — fruit, salad, water. No alcohol! When I begin to feel uncomfortable by the fact that everyone else is getting tipsy, then I’ll either work to let down my social guard naturally or go home. Ay…

    Comment by Martha | October 2, 2010 | Reply

  3. Sounds good. I’m behind you 100% – the best way to achieve goals is to determine whether or not the track you’re on is working, and to change things up accordingly 🙂

    Comment by meeshelleneal | October 4, 2010 | Reply

  4. If counting points makes it easier for you to make “good” choices, this seems like a good plan. Weight loss is such a mental game.

    But, I gotta say – if you ate an *entire* medium pizza on the day before you weighed in, I think it is safe to say that the majority of your 5 lb gain was water weight – holy sodium, batman!

    Comment by monkey | October 5, 2010 | Reply

    • I made those bad choices very consiously! lol

      I’m down to 146 this morning, so some of it probably was water weight, but in five weeks, I really haven’t made any progress with calories. I gained 2 pounds in a week where I ate fewer than 1,200 calories a day.

      Comment by Renee | October 5, 2010 | Reply

  5. […] disciplined following of the Weight Watchers program. I’m chronicling that on my other blog, The Girl Who Could (Formerly) Eat Anything. At the end of 30 days, I’m going to buy myself a present for completing the challenge. And […]

    Pingback by NaNoWriMo Redux « An Unexplored Wilderness | October 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

