The Girl Who Could (Formerly) Eat Anything

Getting fit and taking names

A Gain (WTH!)

I gained 2 pounds last week. TWO POUNDS! And the scale showed the same number on Sunday as it did on Saturday. My waist measured an inch bigger. My clothes feel tighter. And I can see it in the mirror.

This is not an imaginary 2 pounds that’s going to disappear.

And I can’t see any reason for it.

I exercised. I didn’t meet my goal, but came darn close. Even so, I had an extra 165 calories to spare. Granted, there were two days where I ate foods I didn’t have nutritional information for and had to guesstimate calories, but even so, I definitely did not eat enough those two days to see a 2-pound gain.

Needless to say, I’m beyond frustrated. When I did Weight Watchers, I didn’t have a single week where I followed the program and didn’t lose weight, even if it was only half a pound. And I don’t know what to do.

I decided for this week to do what I’ve been doing and hope it was a fluke. Maybe it’s water weight. Maybe I’ll see a huge loss on Saturday. I don’t know.

But if I don’t, I don’t know what to do. I’m afraid to eat more because it could be too much. I’m afraid to eat less because it could not be enough. But if I keep doing what I’m doing and don’t see a change, I’ll have to do something.

I’m seriously thinking about either dropping my calories to 1,000 a day (I read somewhere recently that it’s safe to eat at that level without any adverse effects) or going back to Weight Watchers.

September 20, 2010 - Posted by | Nothing More Than Feelings, Progress

13 Comments »

  1. I’ve been looking at your food diaries. Why don’t you try and eat a bigger breakfast and smaller lunch and dinner? It isn’t a myth that breakfast is the most important meal of the day.
    Those weeks where I was waking up hungry, I wasn’t eating big breakfasts or lunches. Most of my calorie intake was at dinner. I switched it around so breakfast is my biggest meal and I’m doing a lot better now.
    Have you had your thyroid checked recently? Even if you don’t have a family history of it, it could still go bad.

    Comment by thebrokengirl | September 20, 2010 | Reply

    • I eat that way because I’m hungry at night and not in the morning. I feel sick to my stomach just thinking about food too early in the morning, but I get STARVING around 3:30 or 4 in the evening.

      And, as far as your metabolism with eating a bigger breakfast, it does rev it a little in the morning, but studies have found (RECENT ones) that it doesn’t make an overall difference and it all evens out.

      I didn’t gain 2 pounds because I didn’t eat a big enough breakfast. I’m thinking it might be stress related and I MAY be retaining water somehow. I’m noticing that I’m not having to go to the bathroom as much as usual.

      I had my thyroid checked a year ago and it was fine. Which isn’t to say that it couldn’t have changed since then. But this is only one week. I need to remind myself of that.

      Comment by Renee | September 20, 2010 | Reply

  2. So, how do you feel about homeopathic remedies? Boiron makes a homeopathic stress reducer. It’s called Sedalia.

    Comment by thebrokengirl | September 20, 2010 | Reply

    • I would have to do some research. A lot of products that aren’t regulated have some scary stuff in them, but some are benign. Anyway, one source of my stress is gone and the other source, well, I’m working on it in my own way. I’m generally not one to use drugs to deal with my problems. I like to work through them mentally instead. That’s probably my stubborness!

      Comment by Renee | September 20, 2010 | Reply

  3. I’m not saying you should use drugs to deal with your problems. What I was trying to convey is that there are products out there, (that are reliable), that aren’t narcotics or prescriptions to help relieve the symptoms of stress.
    My doctor ok’d them for me while I was pregnant and I’ve been using them ever since, not on a regular basis, but for those moments when I feel like I could snap.
    And lastly, a wise woman once told me that we are the makers of our own stress. It’s not the situation, but how we react and deal with the situation that causes stress.

    Comment by thebrokengirl | September 20, 2010 | Reply

    • I agree with that. But sometimes, it’s not really possible to react differently and it’s not possible to remove myself from the situation. I don’t want to go into details, but it’s been pretty bad lately and out of my control. But it’s getting better. 🙂

      I’ll look into it, but I have other avenues. If I doctor OK’d it, it’s probably OK.

      Comment by Renee | September 20, 2010 | Reply

  4. Well, I’m glad it’s getting better. I know you’ll do what you have to do for you.
    If it ever gets to be too much you could always get yourself an impartial ear to listen (social worker).

    Comment by thebrokengirl | September 20, 2010 | Reply

  5. I wasn’t talking about revving your metabolism with a bigger breakfast. You shouldn’t be hungry to the point of feeling like your starving EVER. If you’re not giving your body enough fuel to run on, you’re going to feel like you’re starving and eat more to compensate.

    Comment by thebrokengirl | September 20, 2010 | Reply

    • I see what you’re saying.

      The 3:30 hunger isn’t because I don’t eat enough in the morning. In fact, I’m 100% sure ot’s psychological because it only happens on days I work. When I’m home all day (weekends), it doesn’t happen. It’s kind of like when I drink alcohol, I CRAVE cheeseburgers. It’s the only time I crave meat. And it’s because we used to go to Denny’s after a night out and I would eat a cheeseburger. It’s not true hunger. And, honestly, if I go for a walk or something and ignore it, the feeling goes away. But if I just eat something, then that’s dinner and I don’t get hungry later.

      Sometimes I eat things (like the cinnamon toast) because they taste good and I have calories to spare, not because I’m hungry. And the deviled eggs is because Chris keeps making them for me and I feel bad saying no as he’s shoving them in my face like a little kid who made his mommy a work of art. So I eat them because it makes him happy (and they taste good). Last night, I was done eating and he had made them for me and I felt bad saying no. But I wasn’t hungry.

      And I’ve tried eating a bigger breakfast. It makes no difference. I still get that starved feeling at the end of the work day.

      Comment by Renee | September 20, 2010 | Reply

  6. Weird. You should never feel bad about saying “No.”

    Comment by thebrokengirl | September 20, 2010 | Reply

    • Well, he’s just so proud of himself! 🙂 And he makes really good ones, too, so it’s tough to say no. But I always adjust my calories to make up for it if I have to. Usually, I have enough of a deficit that I can eat them. It’s his way of saying, “I love you.” Well, one of his ways. It’s hard to explain.

      I was just trying to say that I’m not eating that much at night because I’m not eating enough for breakfast. I have so much protein and fiber and just enough fat in my breakfasts and lunches that they’re very filling and keep me satisfied even thought they’re small.

      Comment by Renee | September 20, 2010 | Reply

  7. I was poking around online for stuff about periods and I ran across this blog. I found some of the stuff really interesting and thought I’d share with you.

    http://kimberlysnyder.net/

    Comment by thebrokengirl | September 20, 2010 | Reply

  8. Water retention can account for a lot. Keep up the good work!!

    Comment by meeshelleneal | September 20, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

