The Girl Who Could (Formerly) Eat Anything

Getting fit and taking names

Oy! Work Parties!

This morning, it was a going away party for a coworker who is going to work in a different department in a different building. Any excuse to have food and get together, right? This afternoon is our monthly birthday party for anyone in the department who has a birthday this month.

It’s already been a somewhat not good week for me. I’m holding on, but just by a thread. I have an extra 174 calories to work with as of this morning. I skipped dance class last night (for various reasons, none of which have anything to do with what this blog is about). That’s about 400-plus calories I planned to burn and didn’t. I did swim and do yoga, though, which is why I’m not seriously in the hole. Thank goodness for my energy Saturday that allowed me to work off 1,150 calories or I’d be up a creek right now.

I’m tracking the food from these parties the best I can, but in the end, it’s mostly a guess. And it’s a lot of sugar. I managed to bypass the donuts, but only because I’d had so much sugar (even I’m capable of that!) that the idea of a donut made me want to puke.

Even so, I’m at fewer than 600 calories for that breakfast. I wish it’d been more nutritious, but it is what it is.

I have plans to walk with a friend tonight, so I have to go. It’s not as easy to get out of it when someone is counting on you to participate. I generally get my exercise in without needing a workout partner, but it can be an incredibly useful tool for those who need motivation.

I’m actually on track to meet my 3,500 calories burned for the week for the first time since I started back. I need just under 1,200 in three days, which is totally doable. So, exercise-wise, I feel pretty good right now. I just wish I was being better about the food.

I don’t think I’ll be buying swiss cheese again any time soon. I can’t stop eating it.

September 15, 2010 - Posted by | Nothing More Than Feelings, Tips

6 Comments »

  1. i had a bowl of Cheerios for breakfast and a little tomato for a snack. fortunatley, we don’t have office parties where i work.

    Comment by mama mia | September 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. I like the picture, I feel like that most of the time. I’ve been horrible about food this week too. I’m guessing it’s the lack of sleep I’ve been getting and have a sick kid at home. STRESS!!!!

    Comment by thebrokengirl | September 15, 2010 | Reply

    • That sounds like the perfect storm of bad eating. I don’t have an excuse this week, except maybe my hormones are getting wacky again. I swear my appetite is ruled by them and they’re unpredictable these days.

      Comment by Renee | September 15, 2010 | Reply

      • i love not having hormones

        Comment by mama mia | September 15, 2010

  3. It’s true that having a buddy or joining a team, are really great ways to get me to do something.

    I prefer to weight-train on my own though.

    Comment by meeshelleneal | September 15, 2010 | Reply

  4. Yes, hormones do seem to rule the foods we crave. It seemed that way when I had a cycle. I’m glad I haven’t had to deal with the hormonal ups and downs since having Audra. It’s one of the many reasons I LOVE breastfeeding.

    Comment by thebrokengirl | September 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

