The Girl Who Could (Formerly) Eat Anything

Getting fit and taking names

Booze and Peer Pressure

This was a post that could have gone on either of my blogs, but since it’s somewhat related to weight loss, I decided to post it here (especially because, well, I feel the need to spice things up here so you all — all five of you! — don’t get too bored reading my menus).

I’m not much of a drinker. Most of my life, I simply didn’t like the taste of most alcoholic drinks. When you’re underage, pretty much what’s available (what you can get your hands on) is beer or cheap wine. To this day, I have yet to taste a beer or wine that I like. They all taste the same to me, and it isn’t good. Sometimes, I wish I liked the taste of wine because a glass a day isn’t too bad calorie-wise and has a lot of health benefits. But I don’t.

I do like sweet drinks: amaretto sours, creamsicles, Bailey’s and milk, White Russians, mudslides … You get the picture. So, when I drink, it’s something like that. The last time I really drank was at my best friend’s wedding reception. A friend of hers supplied all the booze for an open bar, so selection was kind of limited and they didn’t have anything that I normally drink. The bartender, hearing my preferences, offered to make me something he thought I’d like so I decided to give it a try. I don’t remember what he called it (island something or other), but it had either rum or vodka (either works), orange juice, pineapple juice and grenadine. All I can say is: yummy like candy! I drank three.

I think that night was the beginning of my month-long binge and sit session that resulted in a pretty significant weight gain to the point that I weighed more than I have in two years. I’m not blaming the alcohol, just saying it doesn’t help.

Anyway, there are a lot of people in the world who like to drink. They like to drink a lot. They probably drink too much. They probably have a problem they don’t want to admit to or genuinely don’t think they have. Whatever it is, these particular people don’t like to be around people who don’t drink so much. And they push. And they push. And they push.

It doesn’t matter how many times you say, “I just don’t want a drink.” They don’t let up.

The bottom line is, if I’m not in the mood for a drink, I’m not going to have one. I don’t really care for the feeling of being drunk, for one thing. It does nothing for me. And at a certain point, I don’t want more and it starts to wear off and I’m just going to fall asleep, anyway. How much fun am I going to be then?

But more than that, it interferes with my weight loss efforts. There are calories in those little tasty treats. There are empty carbs. It doesn’t take much to add up and then start packing on the pounds. Every time I think I might want a drink or two, all I can think about it what food I’ll need to cut out to make room for the calories in the booze.

It just isn’t worth it to me.

Add to that how I feel the next morning, even after only one or two. I had a couple Smirnoff Ices at a party two weeks ago. I drank two in a matter of three-plus hours. I wasn’t even tipsy. It wasn’t even enough to put me to sleep. Yet, the next day I went for a walk and couldn’t get my heart rate up above 64 percent. It took me almost a full 90 minutes to burn 505 calories (I can burn 750 in the same amount of time normally). Jogging even a little was out of the question.

So, in the end, the best thing for me is to just avoid it. If I need to have something in my hand at a bar, a glass of water serves the cause nicely.

September 14, 2010 - Posted by | Nothing More Than Feelings

7 Comments »

  1. alcoholics can be the worst bores. so can fatties who find out you’re on a diet.

    Comment by mama mia | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  2. I agree. It’s better to avoid alcohol; it only ever causes a series of problems, including messing up my fitness goals and creating awkward social situations (like talking too much about unmentionables). I am trying to let myself be free/joyous/open/less inhibited without needing a drink. For example, dancing (and singing karaoke) is fun, and drinking need not be required (although I am hesitant to let loose in front of others without some ‘assistance’).

    At a bar, a small glass of ginger ale or cranberry juice is a viable option too (as long as that doesn’t turn into several glasses…yes, water is best). As you know, I should not drink anyway because of my Bodhisattva Buddhist stuff, but it’s so difficult sometimes to have a social life and not drink! That mindset needs to change. Alcohol is not necessary, nor is the occasional smoke…it’s all foolish. There are much healthier ways to chill. Tea! I love tea! 🙂

    Comment by Martha | September 14, 2010 | Reply

    • Tea is good!

      It’s totally possible to have a social life without alcohol. But I do get how it loosens you up a little. Luckily for me, if I do need the loosening up, one usually does the trick.

      Maybe you just need to hang with me more often. 🙂

      Comment by Renee | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  3. I’m glad I don’t drink……anymore. Although the majority of my drinking was in my early Army days and I did more than enough exercise to cover my drinking.

    Comment by thebrokengirl | September 14, 2010 | Reply

    • In my early to mid-20s, I probably could have gotten away with a lot of drinking. My metabolism still existed then!

      Comment by Renee | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  4. Just this morning I heard on the radio that drinking not only adds calories but it makes the body want to store all those calories AND OTHERS as fat.

    Comment by meeshelleneal | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  5. I hear ya, by the way what’s a metabolism??? LOL. I wish I still had a higher one.

    Comment by thebrokengirl | September 14, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

