The Girl Who Could (Formerly) Eat Anything

Getting fit and taking names

A Rough Week

My energy level this week is in the basement. I’ve worked out exactly two days out of six so far, and am hoping I’m up for a workout after work tonight or it was be two out of seven.

I’m not sure what’s wrong with me. I can blame the last couple days on a lack of sleep. I suddenly have insomnia the past three nights. Even some herbal tea and a good read last night didn’t work, although I slept more last night than the previous two.

And Wednesday night I ate even though I wasn’t hungry. I had Indian for lunch that day, which is very filling (and was more than 1,000 calories for that one meal!). I didn’t need the sandwich, nuts and chocolate that evening, but I ate it, anyway.

Assuming 1,200 calories a day, net, I’m in the hole by the end of today by almost 500. That really isn’t so bad. That averages about 1,271 a day and should still show a loss (assuming my calculations are correct, since I did have to guesstimate on three meals this week). In fact, my scale is down right now, though only by a half a pound the last I looked. My fingers are crossed for tomorrow and for a better week ahead. I need to find my mojo again.

I know exercise gives energy, but a lack of sleep doesn’t help. We’ll all know the results tomorrow, I suppose.

September 10, 2010 - Posted by | Progress

5 Comments »

  1. The sleeplessness seems to be everywhere. Maybe it’s some cosmic alignment that’s messing with everyone’s sleep. If you don’t have the energy for a full blown work-out maybe just a walk would suffice?
    I’m trying to find some energy in me to do some sort of work-out while Audra is sleeping and it’s just not there.

    Comment by thebrokengirl | September 10, 2010 | Reply

    • I had my workout clothes on yesterday and ended up at the last minute just changing my mind. I did NOT have it in me.

      The other problem with lack of sleep is there’s some hormone — either you produce too much or not enough, I can’t remember, but it messes with your hunger and you want to eat more. It’s a vicious cycle.

      Comment by Renee | September 10, 2010 | Reply

  2. I think you’re referring to cortisol, which your body produces more of, is a stress hormone and makes you eat more.

    Comment by thebrokengirl | September 10, 2010 | Reply

  3. sleeplessness causes stress which produces hormones which cause weight gain even though you’re not overeating.

    Comment by mama mia | September 10, 2010 | Reply

  4. I also have lacked in the exercise department. I take solace in having joined an ultimate league and will be playing two games this sunday.

    🙂

    Comment by meeshelleneal | September 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

