The Girl Who Could (Formerly) Eat Anything

Getting fit and taking names

Yoga Take 2

Dancer's pose. (Photo courtesy http://www.yogaboots.com)

Today, I taught my second yoga class. This time, I had a couple days to plan ahead and come up with a pre-planned class. I did throw in a couple things during the class to flesh out the time by a couple minutes, but for the most part, I followed exactly what I planned.

I’ve never been one to teach. I just don’t think it’s in my personality. I’ve been through enough yoga classes and watched the instructors and I can’t seem to emulate their style. So, while I can tell people to do this pose or that pose, help them and model the poses for them, I don’t think I’m a yoga teacher.

However, this teaching thing was a huge breakthrough for me. I’ve taken classes and I’ve followed DVDs, but I’ve never made up my own routine and just done it on my own, which is something I always kind of wanted to do but didn’t think I had the ability. I don’t know why. I guess I thought of it like choreographing a dance or something and thought maybe I didn’t know enough about yoga to make something up.

But I do! I did it twice in one week and led others. They probably were not award-winning routines. I don’t know all the little details of every pose. But I know enough. And I think if I put my mind to it, I could do it any time, anywhere and just go with the flow (so to speak) without planning ahead. I mean, really when you think about it, one pose flows into another, so you just sort of intuit where to go next.

It’s amazing to me sometimes how a situation comes up that forces you to do something you never thought you could. And you find out you’re actually pretty good at it.

September 2, 2010 - Posted by | Nothing More Than Feelings, Progress, The Past

6 Comments »

  1. Congratulations for pushing yourself 🙂

    Comment by meeshelleneal | September 2, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks!

      Comment by Renee | September 2, 2010 | Reply

  2. WOW- thats awesome. I am scared of yoga all together. I’ve tried it and I always die of boredom. I’m way impressed you can do it- and stay awake to teach it even! Go you! 🙂

    Comment by Shannon | September 2, 2010 | Reply

    • Boredom? Really? Maybe you just have taken it from the wrong instructors. The time always seems to fly for me and the concentration for holding the poses keeps my mind from wandering.

      I’m by no means a great yogi. There’s a lot I can’t do. But I’m pretty bendy, which helps!

      Comment by Renee | September 2, 2010 | Reply

  3. Yay, Renee.

    Comment by thebrokengirl | September 2, 2010 | Reply

  4. i am so impressed. sometimes you amaze me.

    Comment by mama mia | September 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

