The Girl Who Could (Formerly) Eat Anything

Getting fit and taking names

Me? Teaching a Yoga Class? Really?

I'll probably never be able to do this pose!

At work on Tuesdays and Thursdays, a group of us gets together for yoga classes. My coworker has been taking yoga instructor classes at a local yoga studio for a few years and she leads us and is very good at it. (I may have mentioned this before, but it may have been on my other blog. I can’t remember.)

I’ve been doing yoga for a few years and before that, I took a few years of dance classes. The practices are pretty close, and both rely on flexibility, strength and balance. I’d actually thought about becoming a yoga instructor at one point, but decided it was a lot of time, effort and money to invest in something I probably couldn’t make a living at, anyway.

Well, our lunchtime teacher couldn’t teach this week and my fellow yogis recruited me to lead the classes. Yesterday, I totally had to wing it, but I led my first ever yoga class. It was a ton of fun and I get to lead again tomorrow (with more time to put together a routine).

I no longer have the desire to get certified or get a job teaching yoga, but it’s really cool to know I can do it, and without even a plan.

September 1, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. this is really cool, Renee! wow!

    Comment by mama mia | September 1, 2010 | Reply

    • It was fun, if intimidating. I did better than I thought I would. I would have to go through some major training, though, to do it for money.

      Comment by Renee | September 1, 2010 | Reply

  2. Sounds like you are a good leader! I like to believe that it’s the inner spirit that guides what the outer self does. You’ve got a great spirit; I’d love to take one of your classes! Go for it-

    Comment by shelley | September 1, 2010 | Reply

    • Well, you’ll just have to come to Florida!

      Comment by Renee | September 1, 2010 | Reply

  3. Yay! Congrats. That is so exciting 🙂

    Comment by meeshelleneal | September 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

