The Girl Who Could (Formerly) Eat Anything

Getting fit and taking names

This is Where I Get in Trouble

The boyfriend called yesterday and said he wants to do dinner and a movie tonight. And he’s even volunteered to go for Indian with me, which is really awesome because he’s not a huge fan of Indian so we rarely get it together. I usually have to hope a friend is in the mood and go with the friend instead.

Anyway, this is the kind of thing that tends to get me off track. I want to enjoy the experience. I want to eat what I want to eat, and not necessarily think about the calories in it. If I’m really on my game with exercise, it’s OK. I once had a more than 2,000 calorie meal at Olive Garden (I believe the whole day was about 3,500 calories) and still saw a loss that week because I worked out pretty hard and watched what I ate every day. But still, it’s tough.

And right now, it’s a particular challenge because I’ve been so apathetic about losing weight the last couple months. I’m on, I’m off, I’m on, I’m off. I know I’m going to want the mini Butterfingers at the movies. (I’m not a popcorn fan, but I love the candy!) Add that to the Indian (including white rice and naan — even though I’ll get whole wheat) and the creamy sauces … And, of course, the vegetable pakora. It’s fried. It’s fabulous. It’s one of my favorite foods in the entire whole of the entire whole universe.

But … I’ve been eating way under my calorie goal the last few days. I just haven’t been that hungry. And I’ve earned 1,600 calories through exercise so far. I did the math and I have about 2,200 calories to work with before I’m over the 1,200 a day average goal.

Hopefully, I can do this. Hopefully, I can keep up with the downward momentum.

I weighed 151 pounds on August 14. I weighed 145.5 this morning. I would really like to reach my goal this time, with no setbacks. I hate that one meal can make me give up for an entire week.

August 31, 2010 - Posted by | Nothing More Than Feelings | , , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. I know you can keep up with the downward momentum. Just be smart about your choices. Yes, the butterfingers are oh so yummy, but maybe choose to switch them out with something that doesn’t have as many calories. Or take some of your almonds with you instead of buying something there. Better for you AND you aren’t paying ridiculous prices for candy.
    As for dinner, enjoy it, just pay attention to portions.
    I see that so much here in America, the portions are HUGE.

    Comment by thebrokengirl | August 31, 2010 | Reply

    • The Indian food isn’t huge portions. It’s just calorie-heavy. And my thing about the movies is, I don’t want to make the better choice. We don’t go that often, so it’s a treat to have that box of Butterfingers. And they have protein and fiber! So they’re healthy! lol

      Comment by Renee | August 31, 2010 | Reply

      • Treats once in awhile are ok.

        Comment by thebrokengirl | August 31, 2010

  2. Just in case you didn’t know, thebrokengirl is me, Christina.

    Comment by thebrokengirl | August 31, 2010 | Reply

    • I figured it was. 🙂

      Comment by Renee | August 31, 2010 | Reply

  3. I now know your pain of eating out. We went out to eat tonight at our new fave restaurant here. Portions are reasonable, but very calorie heavy. This will not be something we do on a regular basis, maybe every other month. I may have to cut back during lunch or my mid-meal snacks in order to eat dinner there without throwing my calorie count to the wind.

    Comment by thebrokengirl | August 31, 2010 | Reply

    • Once you start exercising a little more intensely, you’ll be able to work in a calorie-heavy meal every once in a while. But it still makes it difficult. On Valentine’s Day, we decided to go to Olive Garden. I looked up ahead of time what I was going to eat and I had to work out four hours in two days to burn the calories for it. OG is tough for me because I’m vegetarian and a bit picky, so the vegetarian-friendly foods they have that are also things I like to eat are high-calorie. And I can’t go there and not get Black Tie Mousse Cake. I was doing WW at the time, and that one slice of dessert is 16 points in itself!

      Then we got there and it was SO crowded, we ended up going to the Indian place next door instead. Still a lot of calories, but not like OG.

      It’s so much easier to not eat out, but sometimes you just want to!

      Comment by Renee | September 1, 2010 | Reply

  4. I went and did a intense hour of walking this morning. Had I known we were going to go out for dinner I would have done the walking yesterday morning. The only reason we went out for dinner is because there was nothing in the house that could have been easily prepared. We’re going again next week (because the “devil” is coming to visit the girls and have snack with Ayla for Grandparents day). I at least know that I have to do a little morning in the morning to make up for what I’m going to eat in the evening.

    Comment by thebrokengirl | September 1, 2010 | Reply

    • I look at my week as a whole instead of one day at a time. I think that comes from Weight Watchers. So, if I have 1,200 calories a day and I only eat 900 one day, I figure it’s OK to eat 1,500 the next. So, I also accumulate my exercise calories and if I don’t use them all one day, I can use them the next. It makes life much easier. But on Saturday, I start fresh with 0, no matter what. If I eat a little more than planned on Saturday, then I have the rest of the week to make up for it.

      It’s been working, so I have to think I’m doing something right!

      Comment by Renee | September 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

