The Girl Who Could (Formerly) Eat Anything

Getting fit and taking names

The Tools

It’s entirely possible to lose weight and exercise for no more than the cost of the food you eat and maybe the clothes you wear while working out. I used to do that. But now I’ve become dependent on some “toys.”

Well, one toy in particular: a Polar F4 heart rate monitor. I left it behind when I attended a wedding in Jacksonville in July and was without it for a month. I still worked out, but trying to guess at how many calories I burned was driving me insane. I estimated based on what the HRM told me when I’d worn it for the same activity before, but without the HRM, I had a lot less motivation.

I think I need to learn to not rely on it so much. What happens if I lose it? If the battery dies? If I forget it? Those things aren’t cheap (and I have one of the cheapest reliable versions).

The only other “tool” I use is my computer, and that can easily be replaced by a pen and paper.

August 30, 2010 - Posted by | Feelings

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

