The Girl Who Could (Formerly) Eat Anything

Getting fit and taking names

Cutting Out an Entire Food Group

We’re a nation of dieters. There’s a whole multi-million-dollar industry dedicated to it. Fad diets abound, most of which require the dieter give up one food or another — or an entire group of foods, like going no or low-carb or the gluten-free folks.

I’ve been told by a few people to cut out sugar and the weight will just fall off. Like I said, though, I’m a sugar junkie. That ain’t happening.

I’ve had moments where I’ve been tempted to try a fad diet. When I was younger, I would starve myself for a couple days to drop any extra weight I may have (or imagined) put on at some point.

I’m sane now. I know it’s about balance and portion control.

Will you lose weight by cutting out sugar or carbs? Probably. The thing about cutting out an entire food group is that you automatically will eat fewer calories, so you will lose weight. Or at least stop gaining, depending on your previous habits.

I’d rather not limit myself. I try not to eat too many sweets, but I will never say, “I won’t eat that anymore.”

Well, I don’t have cow’s milk unless it’s cooked and cow-milk yogurt is out, too. But those are because of necessity and not choice. And I did go vegetarian, but again, not because of my weight.

So, I lied. I will say that I won’t ever eat something again. But I won’t do it because some person wanting to make money off a book says I should. It just wouldn’t work for me.

August 27, 2010 - Posted by | Feelings, The Past

1 Comment »

  1. I think too often when people go extreme it takes up all their mental energy. I am happy to say that by using calorie count I can eat my sweets AND lose weight simply by being aware. Pretty cool 🙂

    Comment by meeshelleneal | August 27, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

