The Girl Who Could (Formerly) Eat Anything

Getting fit and taking names

Where I’ve Been

Let me take you all back … way back.

I moved to Georgia from New York in 2005. At that time, I weighed somewhere in the 140s. I don’t know exactly how much I weighed, but I wore a small size 6 at the time, so I think I had a lot of muscle tone, since even when I weighed 132 pounds last year, the clothes that fit me in January 2005 were too small.

At the time, I didn’t really watch what I ate very carefully, but I tried to exercise here and there. I didn’t have a specific routine, but I walked quite a bit.

Then I met Chris and he introduced me to such foods as Hamburger Helper and this cheesy chicken thing that came in a box with all the ingredients except the chicken. Well, in all honesty, I bought the box. But it sat in the cupboard for at least a year until one day Chris decided to make it. And I ate it.

And it was good.

And I wasn’t exercising.

The clothes in my closet slowly got tighter and tighter until I had only one pair of jeans that fit and I had to go shopping for new clothes to wear to work. More and more of my wardrobe ended up in boxes in storage, since I couldn’t fit most of my pants and skirts over one thigh and my shirts showed way too much in the way of fat rolls for me to be comfortable wearing them.

The scale inched up.

I was in denial. I started trying to eat more salads, cut back on calories. I joined a semi-gym (it was similar to Curves). I actually dropped some weight and got back into some of the clothes I’d grown out of.

And then I stopped. I moved to Florida. Within a year, I weighed my all-time high of 166 pounds and wore a size 12 that was getting a little snug. (For reference, I weighed 155 pounds the day I gave birth to my daughter. Can you still call it residual baby weight when the kid’s 13?)

I got fed up. I joined Weight Watchers. I half-assed Weight Watchers and wondered why the weight wouldn’t come off. I started exercising, but ended up making more excuses than taking walks or going to the gym I’d joined (and shortly after quit when they got rid of all the classes).

I wasn’t losing, but I had at least succeeded in halting the upward trend.

Then I decided to become a vegetarian. I did it for moral reasons (I promise I won’t preach about it. It’s a personal choice, but relevant to the story.). The first month I stopped eating meat (FYI, meat means anything that once breathed and had a nervous system and eyes, so poultry and fish do count), I lost six pounds. But that was it. Just six. No more.

Finally, in April 2008, I got serious. I started counting points in earnest and got serious about working out, walking up and down the steep Tallahassee hills for miles and miles, upping my endurance each time and adding some exercise DVDs, as well.

By June, I’d dropped from 160 pounds and size 12 to 144 pounds and size 6.

Then I stopped again and tried Intuitive Eating. I actually lost a few more pounds, but it didn’t stick. I hovered at 144 for a while and then got back on the Weight Watchers wagon and dropped to 132 pounds. And then slowly gained back 10 pounds.

In the past month, I’ve been eating like nobody’s business and not exercising nearly as much as I used to. I’m not quite sure what the damage is.

I was maintaining 141 for a while, but last week I stepped on the scale and it said 151. Then I had another week of not eating right and not exercising and yesterday, my scale said 147.5. This morning, 145. I subscribe to weighing only once a week and considering that my weight, but I’m kind of in a panic, so it was nice to see the 145 this morning, anyway. And I think some of that gain must have been water retention, though obviously not all of it.

So, I got back on www.myfitnesspal.com and started tracking. I worked out yesterday. I’m planning ahead for today. If I can keep up this pace, you’ll see me at my goal in three to four months.

Up next: my food and exercise for the past two days.

August 23, 2010 - Posted by | The Past

2 Comments »

  1. Renee’ I find inspiration in your public
    posts and I value your ‘real person’ writing style!

    Keep up the good work, both at the computer and in the gym (or pool or great outdoors).

    Comment by tuesday2 | August 23, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks! I hate the gym, though. I can handle my elliptical because it’s in front of a TV!

      Comment by Renee | August 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

